American Alpine Jounrna and Accidents in North American Climbing

A.A.C., Sierra Nevada Section

  • Club Activities
  • Climb Year:
  • Publication Year: 1957

A.A.C., Sierra Nevada Section. Early in 1956 the Sierra Nevada Section proposed that an informal A.A.C. camp be held in an effort to promote increased contact among club members. The Tetons were chosen as the site, because of their relatively convenient location and the wide number of climbs they afford. The idea was endorsed by the Council, and during the last two weeks of August 40 persons, including 13 members, attended the Teton camp. The new, spacious campground at Colter Bay was used the first week, but was replaced the second week by the Jenny Lake campground, which, although more crowded, was better located as a starting point for most of the climbs. Orrin Bonney and Don Woods were on hand for both weeks, and those who attended for a shorter time included Eleanor Bartlett, Phil Bettler, Francis Farquhar, Horst von Henning, Neal Jacques, Fred Johnson, Paul Kenworthy, Mel Marcus, Howard Parker, Ross Petrie, and Phil Smith. Climbs were limited by unfavorable weather the last week in August, but included the East Ridge and Exum routes on the Grand Teton, the seldom done traverse of Teewinot to Mount Owen, Cloudveil Dome, Rock of Ages, Rockchuck, Mount St. John, and Symmetry Spire. Also, Paul Kenworthy accomplished what was probably the first successful navigation of the Grand Canyon of the Snake River in a foldboat.

The section held three meetings during the year. On March 10 Norman Dyhrenfurth met with the group to talk on the accomplishments of the 1955 International Himalayan Expedition to Lhotse. On May 30 Raffi Bedayn entertained 18 members and 25 guests at his Orinda home, where a sumptuous feast, featured by barbecued lamb, was offered. Bob Bates kindly lent us the films of the 1953 American K2 Expedition to highlight the evening program. The final meeting of the year was held on December 1, when Bob Swift gave a well illustrated account of the 1956 attempt on Rakaposhi. Officers for the 1957-1958 term elected at that meeting were: Frederick O. Johnson, Chairman; Raffi Bedayn, Vice-Chairman; Dr. Howard G. Parker, Secretary-Treasurer. The section also helped sponsor a successful program by Edmond Denis on August 8. Mr. Denis showed two films, "Skiing in Chamonix,” and one giving an account of the remarkable French climb in 1954 of the great South Face of Aconcagua.

Frederick O. Johnson, Secretary

This AAJ article has been reformatted into HTML. Please contact us if you spot an error.