A.A.C., Alaska Section

Publication Year: 2010.

Alaska Section. The Alaska Section has been moving forward with a program to replace the aging Snowbird Hut in the Talkeetna Mountains near Hatcher Pass. Built over 30 years ago, the hut sits on a wood foundation that has become unstable due to its age and the settling of the moraine it rests on. The north side of the dome-shaped structure has been damaged by heavy snow loads over the years. Rim Architects of Anchorage developed the new hut design, preserving the style of the small wilderness hut, yet offering a much more efficient and usable space. The new structure will have an 18' × 18' floor plan and will comfortably sleep six people. It will be located slightly above the old hut and will command a better view of the glacier and surrounding summits. Logistics for constructing the new hut will require airlifting materials into the glacier. Construction of the hut is planned for 2010 by a volunteer crew under the supervision of Harry Hunt and former AAC treasurer Charlie Sassara. The Bear Tooth Theater Pub hosted a successful fundraiser for the hut, with a showing of the video Flakes, featuring Anchorage telemark champion, Paige Brady, to a sellout crowd.

The monthly public slideshows were a great success, bringing Club members and the public together at the BP Green Energy Center in Anchorage. Among the presentations were: Harry Hunt’s ascents of Shaken Not Stirred on the Moose’s Tooth and other climbs; Ryan Hokanson’s report on climbing with Sam Johnson in the Arrigetch Peaks of Alaska; Dave Hart’s review of his three most recent expeditions in the Wrangell/St. Elias and Kluane National Parks; and Kelsey Gray’s epic road trip with friends driving 18,000 miles across North America and climbing over 180 routes in 25 states, 3 Canadian Provinces and Mexico.

The Alaska Section was a sponsor of Anchorage’s 1st Annual Alaska Ice Climbing Festival held from March 6–8 at Hunter Creek. The event included clinics, a competition, food, beverages, slideshows, live music, and an awards ceremony. Prizes and awards were donated by Black Diamond, Petzl, Mountain Hardwear, Alaska Mountaineering & Hiking, Ice Holdz, and others.

Harry Hunt, Chair