AAC Publications - http://publications.americanalpineclub.org

Asia, Nepal, Lhotse Shar

Lhotse Shar. A Korean expedition was composed of Han Gwang-Geol, leader, Cha Jae-Woo, Kim Young-Soo, Ma Jong-Ho, Kang Sung-Do, Chun Young-Ho, Ahn Seung-Ho, Kwon Chun-Sik, Lee Young-Hak, Park Jae-Wook and Jung Yuong-Jin. They climbed the normal southeast ridge. They reached Base Camp at 5200 meters on the Lhotse Shar Glacier east of Imjatse (Island Peak) on August 21. Camps I, II, III, IV and V were established at 5700, 6100, 7000, 7700 amd 8100 meters on September 4, 9, 17, 14 and October 3. On October 4, Kwon Chun-Sik and Sherpas Rinji and Dawa Wangchu reached the summit.

Elizabeth Hawley