AAC Publications - http://publications.americanalpineclub.org

A.A.C. New York Section

A.A.C., New York Section. The 1988 year was a busy and productive one for the New York Section. As has been our custom, Section members received invitations to several lecture programs followed by a social hour, along with a Spring members’ event, a climbing outing in the Adirondacks, and our traditional black tie Annual Dinner, which was run as a benefit for the Club Library. Lecturers this year included: Eric Perlman on the First Ascent of Jade Dragon Peak; John Iacovino and Chip Kamin on the 1987 Pittsburgh Ama Dablam Expedition; Jeff Lowe on “Invisible Climbs” and Barry Bishop on the occasion of the 25th Anniversary of the first American ascent of Everest in 1963. A Spring social featured slide shows by Peter Bruchhausen on Antarctica, Garrett Bowden on Aconcagua, Fred Selby on Skiing the Haute Route and Gerry Bloch on his “oldest” ascent of the Nose Route on El Capitan. At the May climbing outing in Keene Valley a variety of routes and ascents were done by the 20 members in attendance. After an active day on the rocks, members and guests enjoyed a cocktail party and dinner at the Whiteface Resort, followed by a beautiful multimedia show by Mark Meschinelli. The Annual Section Dinner in October broke all attendance records as 160 members and guests, including a record 30 new members, enjoyed presentations by Dick Bass on the first International Climbing Competition at Snowbird and by Chris Bonington with a retrospective on “The Everest Years.” The 1988 John Case Award for accomplishment by New York Section members was awarded to the Pittsburgh Ama Dablam Expedition Team led by John Iacovino. The Club video library, financed entirely by Section contributions, now totals more than 50 tapes on a wide variety of subjects and is available on a circulating basis to the membership.

All the above would not have been possible without the assistance of a number of dedicated volunteers, in particular: Jeanne Gilbert, Earlyn Church, Dave Knox, Fran Allen, Todd Ritter, and Peter Gilbert.

Philip Erard, Chairman