American Alpine Jounrna and Accidents in North American Climbing

A.A.C., Cascade Section

  • Club Activities
  • Climb Year:
  • Publication Year: 1952

A.A.C.: Cascade Section. William Eastman was elected chairman at one of the several meetings held in Seattle in 1951. Kurt Beam, with Erling Strom, made an ascent of Mt. Assiniboine. Among those climbing in the Alps were Edward LaChapelle, George Senner and William Byrd. Reports from the Mt. Rainier Guide Service indicate a very successful summer, with over 300 climbers reaching the summit, 82 of them led by guides. Among the new ascents by members during 1951 was that of Mt. Saugstad, near Bella Coola, by Peter Schoening and his party.

Dee Molenaar

This AAJ article has been reformatted into HTML. Please contact us if you spot an error.